Esch Friends of Europe

Esch Charter of European Rural CommunitiesFriends of Europe Esch

Esch Charter of European Rural Communities

Esch Charter of European Rural CommunitiesBoard:
The board consists of volunteers that are nominated for the job. They are not elected, but asked or chosen for their skills.
The mayor should always be part of the board.
Also one board member should be part of the town council of Haaren.

In 2015, the board consists of:
Chairman: Boy Scholtz
Secretary: Thea Heesemans
Treasurer: Lia de Man
This is the daily board of the organization

Esch Charter of European Rural CommunitiesBoard member: Frans Vermeer
Board – and Youth member: Boy Scholtze
Member on behalf of community: Ans Beijens
Member (and mayor): Jeanette Zwijnenburg

Esch Charter of European Rural CommunitiesMeetings:
The daily board meets if the need arises. The complete board meets every 6 weeks. Once a year there is a public meeting for all “Friends” – contributors – and interested inhabitants.
During this meeting there will be a lottery to decide who may join the Annual Charter meeting. People should apply to be part of the lottery. “Friends” have precedence in this procedure.

Esch Charter of European Rural CommunitiesActivities:
The organization helps with organizing the participation to the annual meetings, such as travel arrangements, communication with the host country and so on. When there is a meeting in Esch, the organization takes care of the host families, the programme and activities during that meeting.

Recent activities:
In 2005, Esch was the host village of the annual meeting. In 2010, Friends of Europe Esch invited villages to join the people of Esch during the famous Beerpumpfestival. In 2012, Esch hosted a youth meeting and in 2015, during the 50th anniversary of the Beerpumpfestival, Esch invited again villages to join them during the celebration weekend.Esch Charter of European Rural Communities